In comprehensible adfinitum

My last post? Yes, I don’t know how I managed to type after being up all those hours.

But I just got done being irritated over on PZ Meyers blog. (btw, I don’t get irritated at the blogs, but the comments portion. I was reading this post again, and realized I forgot to make clear why I was irritated.)  A friend linked it to me because finally PZ has gone after ThunderfOOt, a dyed in the wool moron.

So I’ve faced this before, this feeling of, ok now he’s stepped on *your* toes  (PZ and the gang…) about one of *your* pet issues, but you couldn’t see that he was ridiculous before this? Really? All thunderblunder’s argumentation is this bad, and his opinions this nonsensical. He’s the type of guy that even when he’s right (religion sucks) he’s wrong (let’s get the muzzies! there’s no such thing as a moderate muzzie!)

PZ should have told him to take a flying leap over his extreme jihad speech/lies toward Muslims long before this. Or, just been plain offended with the painfully stupid confabulations and non-arguments. Oh yeah, and there were the easily verifiable LIES he was telling about people and videos he edited to make certain people look guilty of things they were not. This was not an innocent mistake, the very same video he edited had the answer to who photoshopped his image, and he edited that straight out.

Ok, so I suppose over this sexual harassment issue some of us are licking our chops and PZ finally waking up to smell thunderf00t’s stupid napalm morning is what we’ve been waiting for. Still there’s that mixed vibe of, ‘how did you not get this before’?

The comment section of the PZ Meyers blog I find irritating and sad. I always want more for smart educated people. I’m referring to any comment section on any given post on the PZ blog. So much dog piling you would think people would be embarrassed to do that. ‘Oh, I’m going to make a one/three liner comment to a person 10 others before me have responded to in no substantial manner saying basically what they said. That’s what we need here, there seemed to be a gaping hole before I posted my admonition and flounce prediction!’

Seriously, these people should be embarrassed.  I’ve wanted to do a post on bullying for awhile, but I think I can sum up what I want to say by listing one item. It’s bullying when…

It’s bullying when there is no resolution. When you know that the person getting dogpiled, or even ridiculed by one person, cannot do anything to resolve the issue, that is bullying. The people that bully others think they are cloaked under their “yeahbutts”  and it’s just too confusing to call them on anything.

Nope.

If you do not offer a resolution for how that person can get you OFF their ass, explicitly or implicitly, you are bullying.  It’s overkill when taken together with the straw man “clever rephrases”- which posters  *do* think they’re clever in this fallacy.

It is a tightrope though. My favorite poster on manboobz does the rephrase well, but it can easily veer off into strawman lane. The clever rephrase will prioritize and clarify, even while more succinct,  without cheating the original author of meaning or intended meaning.  “This is what you are really saying.” should indeed be what they are really saying.

Wait! don’t get me wrong on “intended meaning”. When a clever rephrase is necessary, it’s needed precisely because the original poster does not realize in effect that they’ve prioritized something unethically.  When I say, ‘without cheating intent’ I mean the rephrase should not be a strawman or ascribe some absurd intent to the poster.

It’s a pretty abusive mentality some have, that failing in this area is just fine and does not warrant any policing or dog piling. FUCKED UP PRIORITIES. If people were truly intellect police, we’d really police this kind of thing instead of looking for dog pile gotchas on people we don’t like for whatever reason.

“YABBIT!!!”

-shut up.

Back to my main point, if you are badgering someone and it’s clear there is no resolution, or no way out for the person, it’s bullying.  Sometimes they do hint that if the person quit posting there, that would be a resolution. I don’t see how people can live with themselves being like that. What is the problem with just not reading someone’s posts? Also, how do some posters feel they own the board?

I hate the yabbits, ‘yabbit that person advocates this position’.

My take on that is, feel free to argue, and then drop it. You don’t own the board, it’s not your place to drive people off, and the whole atmosphere seems abusive and directed at an individual instead of topical material.  The atmosphere created is one of fear and dog piling and there are likely a few that feel like they are  cowards because they don’t know what to say. But nobody is truly hiding under these yabbits like they imagine they are.

I’ve also noticed a sense of entitlement. The targeted person MUST respond to certain individuals. I can’t speak for others, but I know that if I feel badgered or like I’m in a situation where I’m being mis-characterized and there’s  a bullying mean spirited tone, I don’t in any way want to contribute to that, and I ignore. Nobody is entitled to my time, esp in a negative way. I feel it’s a wise decision to not engage, and then bullies will also take that as an offense and try in some way to make you pay for ignoring inappropriate conversations.

I just realized I have a lot more to say on this issue, but have to end here and go do something else.

On a brighter pane, I have just read a great blog post by skeptifem. 🙂

http://skeptifem.blogspot.com/2012/06/some-dude-sexual-harassment-isnt.html

Happy.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

